Corn Muffins

I remember when we were still in the Philippines, they opened a branch of Kenny Rogers restaurant and we loved the corn muffins they serve on the side of their chicken.

Several years back, I craved for them and that made me look for recipes and here is what I came up with after looking at various recipes. My daughter loved them when she was little and I was surprised that now that she is 19 she asked for the recipe and made a batch for us and her boyfriend. I feel old. The photo I am attaching to this recipe is from the batch she made today. Took me a while to type my recipe so here goes:

What you need:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened (so remember to take this out early to soften but not melt)
  • 2/3 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups plain flour, sifted
  • 3/4 cup cornmeal (usually this results to muffins that are gritty, which is still ok but we get the fine corn meal from the shop to avoid the grittiness), sifted
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 3/4 cup corn (you can use the canned one if you don’t have fresh ones, just drain, or frozen kernels thawed, will do)

What you need to do:

  • Preheat your oven to 180 deg C (fan forced).
  • Using a mixer, cream together the butter, sugar, honey, eggs and salt. Add the flour, cornmeal and baking powder and carefully blend together, adding the milk while mixing.
  • Add the corn into the mixture and mix by hand, until they are all worked in.
  • Spray some oil onto small muffin pans and fill each cup with the mixture.
  • Bake for about 10-15 minutes (keep an eye out on them!) or until they turn brown on top.
  • Enjoy warm or cold and make memories.

Leave a comment