Duck Cooked in Turbo Broiler

duck

Just recently, frozen whole size 21 ducks were on half price at Coles for $11.00 (or $11.50 can’t remember exactly how much) so I got one to cook for the family.

There are various recipes for cooking duck but I wanted an easy one.  I have always cooked chicken in turbo broiler so I thought, why not duck?  I found a recipe online and here is the link:

https://cookingwithstellaaa.wordpress.com/2013/01/20/turbo-duck-roast-duck-in-90mins-or-less/

but I decided to tweak some of the instructions to suit my personal preference.  It turned out very well (which was good otherwise we would have had to get take away for dinner).  Here is how I cooked my duck.

What you need:

size 21 duck, THAWED, rinsed and drained

1 teaspoon salt

dash of ground pepper

optional:     1 onion, 6-8 pieces garlic, 2 tablespoons paprika

 

What I did:

Run a sharp knife on the breast part of your duck to make some shallow straight cuts (but not through the fat — this is similar to what you would do to the skin of pork before roasting), place in a bowl and set aside.

Basically, if you don’t have the onion, garlic and paprika, you can just sprinkle salt and pepper on your duck and rub some inside its cavity.  If you have onion, garlic and paprika, put them altogether with the salt and pepper in a food processor and process.  If the mixture looks dry, add a teaspoon of water at a time until it looks quite pasty.  Do not make it too runny.  Rub this mixture all over the duck and inside its cavity.

Truss your duck.  I used the method of trussing chicken found provided by the same site where I found the recipe:

http://ruhlman.com/2010/07/how-to-truss-a-chicken/

It was surprisingly easy to do.  Sprinkle a bit more salt on the outside of the duck.

If you have time, return the duck and cover with a cling wrap, refrigerate for an hour.  If you don’t have the time, proceed to cooking — I personally think it would be okay.  I placed the duck (breast side UP) in my turbo broiler, set it to the highest temperature which was 250 deg C for 45 minutes.  After 45 minutes, I turned the duck over and cooked it for another 45 minutes.  If your turbo broiler works the same as mine, your duck would be ready.  If you are in doubt, cook a few more minutes.

Serve with potatoes and/or carrots or for most Asians, with rice.

2 Comments

  1. THANK YOU! Im so honored for this post! Can I please repost this on my blog? I have a section called “Fanmeal” where readers cooking my recipes are posted.
    http://cookingwithstellaaa.com/fanmeal/

    • Of course you can and I thank you for your recipe 🙂 My duck needed to cook for about an hour. It would depend on the size of the duck and your turbo broiler I guess but in the end it was so yummy. Thank you again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

