Homemade Tikoy 

20170130_132642

So how did I make my tikoy?  I have been meaning to write down my recipe but because of a million other things I need to do, that was pushed down the list and well, forgotten.  But this time, I decided I should.  I don’t need to wait for Chinese New Year to have some, and same with you.  So here it is.

What you need:

2 1/2 cups glutinous rice flour

1 cup plain white sugar

3/4 packed cup brown sugar

1 3/4 cup water

What you need to do:

Spray some oil on a 6 inch round cake pan and set aside. I used this size as this fits my steamer.

In a bowl, mix together all the ingredients with a whisk, making sure there are no lumps left. Pour the mixture in the prepared pan.

Place the cake pan in a steamer. Lay a piece of cloth on top of the steamer, taking care that it doesn’t touch the mixture (and that the edges of your cloth are not too close to the fire under the steamer — I used a hand towel folded in half for this) before covering with the lid.  Steam for 1 hour or until firm (depending on how tall your pan is as the inside is the last to set and you don’t see it — my initial attempt just took 45 minutes because my pan was wider but it was quite soft still in the centre).  Let it cool.

Hold the pan slightly sideways and loosen the sides gently (just poke a bit with a knife and you will see it coming off the sides by itself, like a gelatin), and turn over onto a plate.  Cover with cling wrap and refrigerate.

To serve, slice to your preferred size, dip onto beaten egg and shallow fry in oil both sides. Another way is to wrap each slice in spring roll wrappers and then fry until crispy. Serve warm.

20160212_153706

Leave a Reply

