Gingerbread Cookies

20151204_120652[1]

Start of a long school holiday.  As usual, I have to think of things to do with my daughter so she wouldn’t be that bored.

As I was paying for my groceries in Foodworks, I stumbled upon a free Scratch & Sniff Recipe card, and the recipe was for Gingerbread Cookies.  Yay, something for her to do, and she loves gingerbread cookies!  I don’t eat them, but hey, so what?

As soon as I got home she wasted no time getting everything ready and started baking.  And just like that, the first activity I had for her is finished.  Time to look for something again.

Oh and by the way, I loved the cookies.  These gingerbread cookies, I will gladly eat.  Sharing the recipe below, from Foodworks (some parts I edited).

Ingredients:

350 grams plain flour, plus extra for dusting

2 teaspoons ground ginger

1 pinch ground cloves

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking soda

100 g cold butter, cut up into small pieces

175 g light brown sugar

1 egg

4 tablespoons golden syrup

What to do:

Heat the oven to 170 deg C (fan forced) and line 2 large baking trays with wax paper.

Sift the dry ingredients except the brown sugar into a mixing bowl and rub in the butter with your fingers until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs.  Add the sugar, syrup and egg and mix well until a dough is formed.

Roll out on a lightly floured surface to about a third of an inch thick and use a cookie cutter to make the shapes.  Transfer the shapes onto the lined baking trays, leaving small spaces in between each of the shapes.

Bake for 10-15 minutes until golden brown.  Cool the trays for 5 minutes then place the cookies on a wire rack to cool completely.

20151209_162654[1]

Leave a Reply

