My Version of the Pork Siomai

20151105_185556

I love pork siomai.  I can’t think of any Filipino who does not love pork siomai. I put them in the category of the Pinoy’s pork barbecue — once you start eating it, you can’t stop.  I have tried making them once or twice before but although we finish the batch (my husband would eat anything), I was always not that satisfied with how it tasted. It’s like it’s-almost-there-but-not-quite kind of siomai for me.  Until I finally made these last night and decided that this one is for me.  I found hundreds of recipes online for pork siomai, but this combination of simple ingredients that I had, is one I have come up with, that gave me the taste I like.

What I had:

a packet of wonton wrappers

1 kilo of finely ground pork (Note the word “finely” there?  That means I only use the nearly paste like ground pork usually found in Asian stores — this is the kind of ground pork we use for our sausages and pork meatball steamed buns.  The usual ground or minced pork you find is usually more lumpy, and I use that for other recipes.)

1 carrot

4 large cloves of garlic

1 large onion

1 egg

1 1/2 tablespoons sesame oil

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1 packed tablespoon brown sugar

What I did:

I placed my finely ground pork in a bowl and set it aside.

I peeled the carrot, washed it, and cut it up to fit my small food processor (it gave me approximately 1 cup of processed carrots, to give you an idea of the size of the carrot) .  Place this into the bowl of ground pork.

I processed together the garlic and onion and placed them in the same bowl (you probably could process the carrots, garlic and onion together if you want it faster).

I added the rest of the ingredients (excluding the wonton wrapper of course) and mixed everything thoroughly (I used clean hands for this).

I placed a generous amount of mixture in the centre of each wonton wrapper and gently pushed the sides up to make walls around the mixture to make it look square-ish (this would round out during cooking).  The corners were left sticking out.  Each of these corners I folded to its right side just so they are out of the way and the siomai would look neat.  I added some more of the filling if it looked like it needed some more, and patted the top with the back of a teaspoon to flatten.

 

20151105_181426

When they were all ready, I sprayed some oil on the steamer so they don’t stick, and steamed them for 20-25 minutes. (Make sure you leave spaces in between so they don’t stick to each other! – added 30 Dec 2015)

We ate them with a soy sauce/lemon juice dip and packed the left overs (not much) in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

