Oatmeal Cookies

20140918_173255[1]

Last night I had a craving for a cookie. I didn’t have chocolate chips and walnuts but I did have some rolled oats so I decided to make some oatmeal cookies. I haven’t done this for a while and it took me a while to find my recipe. Thank goodness I can now document it in this site to make it easy for next time. These cookies are not too sweet but sweet enough for me to have and they do go well with coffee or tea. Add 1/4 cup to 1/4 cup more brown sugar if you want them sweeter.

What you need:
2 1/4 cups plain flour (LIGHTLY spooned onto measuring cups and (leveled off)
2 cups brown sugar (FIRMLY PACKED onto measuring cups)
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla essence (this is optional — I don’t normally use this, but since I had some I did)
250 grams butter (it is important that the butter is SOFTENED but not melted)
2 XL sized eggs
2 cups rolled oats

What you need to do:

Preheat your oven to 175 deg C (fan forced).

In a large bowl, combine together the flour, brown sugar, baking soda, salt, butter, vanilla and eggs.  Beat them at medium speed until blended.  Take out the bowl from your mixer.  To it add your rolled oats and mix these using a wooden spoon or your hands.  I used an ice cream scooper because I want large ones, but you can scoop just about 1 1/2 well rounded tablespoons of the mixture to a cookie sheet lined with baking paper.  This is supposed to be a drop cookie recipe (where you just drop them onto the pan and you expect them to flatten by themselves while baking) but just to be sure, I always flatten them slightly (either with your finger tips, a fork or the bottom of a drinking glass).  Bake for 12 minutes.  Do not overbake as they will get tough.  I want my cookies soft, and they do get firmer as it cools.  Cool 1 minute before removing from the cookie sheet.

I love eating them warm-ish.

20140918_165819[1] 20140918_165827[1] 20140918_173304[1]

Leave a Reply

