Pork Afritada

20140730_173940

I was craving for Chicken Afritada since last week but we ran out of tomato sauce so I had to use what I had in the pantry and came out with the Chicken Curry (recipe to follow).

Now that I have the tomato sauce, I happily went on to cook what I wanted but using pork, which I also bought today from the shop.  I have always forgotten to cook this everytime I think of what we could have for dinner hence it was my daughter’s first time to try it.  I am relieved to see that her attacking it with gusto!

What you need:

1 small onion, sliced

about 2 cloves of garlic, minced

About 3 tablespoons oil

about 1 kilo of pork belly, cut into serving portions

2 cups of tomato sauce

1 piece of bay or laurel leaf

1 1/2 cups water

about 2-3 small potatoes — peeled, washed and quartered

about 2-3 small carrots — peeled, washed and cubed

1 teaspoon salt

dash of ground pepper

1 tablespoon sugar

What you need to do:

In a big pan, quickly saute the garlic and the onion in oil.  Add the pork and stir fry until the pork is no longer pink, maybe about 5 minutes will do.  Pour the tomato sauce and add the bay leaf.  Cover and let simmer for about 10 minutes.  Stir, and add the water and let it simmer again.  After 40 minutes, add the potatoes and the carrots and continue simmering until the potatoes and the carrots are tender.  Add the salt, pepper and sugar and stir until mixed.  Serve with rice and enjoy!

Some people add capsicum to this but my daughter does not eat capsicum so I had to skip that.

Leave a Reply

