Easy Pastillas

20140120_160604[1]

It has been a very hot day today and my daughter wanted us to make something together.  I didn’t want to cook or bake anything so I thought we’d make pastillas.  This recipe is very yummy, but of course nothing would beat the very soft pastillas in the Philippines where I they use fresh cow’s milk (some say carabao’s milk), boils it with sugar until thick.  This version though not as soft, is still soft and still heavenly 🙂 and best of all, does not require cooking.

What you need:

2 cups powdered milk

1 can of condensed milk

1 tablespoon of softened butter (this is optional)

some sugar for rolling

What you need to do:

In a bowl, mix together with a wooden spoon the first three ingredients until combined.  This is now the pastillas before being prettied up.

Spread a bit of butter on the palm of your hands. Spoon your desired amount of the pastillas and roll between your palms until round.  Roll on sugar.

At this point, you can either just put them in a bowl and refrigerate or individually wrap in candy wrappers.

Enjoy!

Tip:  Several years ago, I gave these to all my friends at work.  I tinted my sugar red and green before rolling the pastillas on them, and packed them in little shiny boxes.  They looked so Christmassy!

Though I like my pastillas plain, you can add a bit of lime rind or jackfruit or a very small piece of cheese.

 

2 Comments

  1. Riza

    Yummy..thanx Cris for sharing..Nice idea..I may make some for Valentine’s..

    • That is a good idea! Happy Valentines Day in advance 🙂

Leave a Reply

