Chinese Pork Mince Stir Fry with Green Beans

As a rice topping

As a rice topping

I was about to check my emails and  before the page went on to my mails, I caught a glimpse of what was in the news.  One of them was about scientists finding evidence of an apocalypse (that word is so scary!) that happened to a different planetary system that is very similar to ours.  In the article it says that these evidences — remains of an asteroid — suggest that that system may have had planets very like ours.  The beings that lived in those planets either could have left (if they had the means to do so) before it happened, or could have been “extinguished” when their sun exploded.

It also says that scientist think that the same could happen to our own sun in about 6 billion years from now.  Wow.  Calling Dr. Who…. I definitely wouldn’t want to be there when that happens!

Ohhhhh…kayyy…. enough of that.   Let’s go to the present concern.  I had a lot of minced pork.  More than a kilo, which we bought from the market.  Before I froze them, I sort of separated them into 2 big balls without opening the bag and hoped that when they freeze, they will freeze separately.  Which they didn’t.  So when I needed just one of the big balls of pork mince, I had to thaw all of them, and think pronto of what to do with because I didn’t want to re-freeze what I have just thawed.

One of them is the Chinese Pork Mince with Green Beans.  I loved that it is easy to cook and had vegetables that are crunchy.  I loved most of all that my daughter ate them heartily and even asked for seconds.  The second one I will post soon if it turns out well 🙂

Ingredients:

500 – 600 grams mince pork

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 tablespoon fresh ginger, finely chopped or sliced

2 teaspoons sesame oil

2 teaspoons canola or vegetable oil

1 onion, sliced

3 teaspoons brown sugar

3 tablespoons soy sauce

3 tablespoons oyster sauce

3 tablespoons of water

about 300 grams fresh green beans, washed, topped and tailed, and cut in half

around 30 grams unsalted cashew nuts, or peanuts or more, if you love nuts

What you need to do:

Heat pan and add both sesame and canola oil.  Sauté ginger, garlic and onions.  Cook for about a minute and then add pork. Once your pork changes colour and is cooked, add your green beans and stir fry until it turns a beautiful green (do not overcook) and crispy but cooked.  Add the nuts, sugar, soy sauce, oyster sauce and water.  Cook for a further 2 minutes.  Serve steaming over rice.

Optional:  you can chop up some chilli and add it to the ginger, garlic and onions for some kick.

Eat. Laugh. Live.

20131009_180709

.

Leave a Reply

