Beef Sausage Rolls

20130827_071839

It has been a very busy past 2 weeks for me hence I wasn’t able to write at all.

Wow, last night I saw in the news Miley Cyrus’ VMA performance.  It was a shocker, to say the least.  And I felt a twinge of sadness for her.  My family used to watch Hannah Montana on TV and Lizzie McGuire and iCarly.  The girls in these TV shows were funny, innocent and so wholesome.

Hilary Duff is now married and a mother, while Miranda Cosgrove is presently in college majoring in film.  They are not my kids but because my daughter grew up watching them, they’re sort of like part of the family.  And it is nice to see how they have grown into women and quite interesting to see what they are now up to.

But Miley Cyrus, wow. Words are not enough.  It was sad, and it was also scary.  I couldn’t believe how different she is now from the funny young girl we used to see on TV.  I am pretty sure a lot of young girls were watching the VMA last night and most of them would be copying not just her hair.

As a parent, I all of a sudden felt the heaviness of the responsibility I have in protecting my daughter from things that could lead her to the same path.  Weed, drugs, young irresponsible sex, degradation, disrespect, disregard for feelings of other people… Last night as my daughter was sleeping, I was staring at her while thinking of what might be her future, and kissed her on the forehead.  As she dreamily flicked away my kiss, I talked to her in my mind.  I promised her I would do what I could to help her grow happy, healthy and a good human being.  I will not be always around her to guide her, but as long as I am, I would do what it takes to instill in her the virtues that were instilled in me by my parents and my family.   I am not going to choose her friends for her, but I will teach her how to know whether a friend is a real friend. I am not going to stop her from going to places she wants to go, but I will teach her how to sense danger and how to try to be safe.  I will be there to say “no” to her if I need to, praise her if she does a good job, constructively criticize her if she could do better, and let her know if she does something she shouldn’t.

I have read that one of the greatest things you can give to your children is to be their parent, and not their friend.  But to me, to be a parent and a friend at the same time is greater.  I want to be her friend that wouldn’t leave her no matter what. Someone she can always talk to, and tell her secrets to, without fear of being judged.

This morning as I woke up, fears brought about by Miley flew away.  There will always be something to be afraid of.  But I am not going to let those fears rule me and my family.  And so I had to go back to what I always think in the morning:  “What to make for breakfast and lunchboxes??????” LOL.

And looking at my fridge, I was able to make a simple beef sausage roll.

Ingredients:

Minced Beef (mixed with diced onion, salt, pepper, dash of Worcestershire sauce and egg) — this I already had because they were uncooked leftovers from a beef burger dinner we had.  You can season your minced beef anyway you want.

Commercially bought frozen puff pastries

Egg

Milk

What to do:

Preheat your oven to 200 degrees C.

In a small bowl, mix the egg and milk and set aside.

Cut one of the thawed square pastries in two.

Place your beef on the bottom part of one of them forming a log (see photo below).

Roll the pastry to cover the beef.  Slice into preferred size. Brush the tops with the egg and milk mixture. Place in a wax paper lined baking tray seam side down, and cook in the oven for about 20 minutes, or until brown.

What to do with the leftover milk and egg mixture?  Season with salt and pepper, and cook as scrambled eggs.

Forming a log with your beef.

Forming a log with your beef.

Leave a Reply

