My Simple Apple Pie

Apple Pie

I was never a fan of apple pie.  It was because the first apple pie I tasted was too sour for my taste and I thought all apple pies taste like that hence, I never again tried them.  My husband on the other hand, is a fan.  My daughter loves the McDonald’s one.  And so we bought the frozen ones that you just need to either warm up or thaw and when I tried one, it was not  sour at all.  In fact, I loved it.  So I thought to myself:  hmmm… maybe I should try making one (if it is not too hard to make, of course).  I searched the internet and found hundreds of recipes, most of them claiming to be the best.  After awhile, I have decided to combine ideas from them, tweak some of the ingredients, and I came up with this.  Both my husband and daughter loved it and I don’t think we will ever go back to buying 🙂  Besides, except for the apples, you would probably find the rest of the ingredients in your pantry or fridge 🙂

Ingredients:

For the pie crust:

2 cups self raising flour

125 grams butter, cubed and softened at room temperature

2 tablespoons plain white sugar

1 egg (I used extra jumbo size but the original recipe just said “egg” so I guess a large size would do)

2 tablespoons water

For the filling:

500 grams Granny Smith apples (about 4 pieces depending on size)

1/4 cup plain white sugar

2 tablespoons butter (I used salted butter as I like a bit of salt in my sweets, but unsalted is fine)

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

4 tablespoons water divided into 2 tablespoons each

1 tablespoon cornstarch

Instructions:

Make the base: Sift the flour into a bowl and add the sugar and the butter.  Using your finger tips, cover the butter with the flour and rub together until mixture resembles bread crumbs.  If you are feeling quite lazy to do this (like I was) and don’t want sticky fingers, use your mixer with your hook attachment.  Add egg and water and continue mixing until they all come together.  Divide this dough into 2 and keep one half in the fridge, covered in cling wrap.

Lightly spray with oil a 9 inch flan tray with a detachable bottom, or a foil tray or pie pan with sides that are just about an inch tall.  Roll the first half between 2 pieces of wax paper as thin as you can, until it can cover the base of your pan.  I rolled mine as thin as I could so that it would fit the pan and it did hence I think, if that half of your dough doesn’t cover your pan, that means you can still roll it thinner.  Poke with the tines of a fork the base and place in the fridge while making your filling.

Prepare the filling:  Rinse, and peel the apples. Take out the cores. Cut them into about half inch cubes (or the size you want in your apple pie). Place them in a small saucepan.  Add the sugar, butter and cinnamon. Mix with a wooden spoon and cook until the butter has melted (help melt it by stirring once in a while with your wooden spoon).  Add 2 tablespoons of water and cover.  Cook for 10 minutes in medium heat.

20130715_163904

When the 10 minutes are nearly finished, combine in a small bowl the cornstarch and the remaining 2 tablespoons of water.  Stir this until the cornstarch has dissolved and pour this onto your apple mixture.  Cover and continue cooking for 1 to 2 minutes or just until the cornstarch thickens the mixture. Remove from heat.

Pour this filling onto your pie base.  Spread gently with the back of the spoon.  You will notice this pie is not as tall as other pies but if you want it taller, just double the recipe for the filling.  Set aside.

Roll your remaining half of the dough as thin as you can (again between 2 wax papers), to a size that can cover the entire top of the pie.  if it is too small, that means you can still roll it thinner.  Place it on top and seal by pressing the edges together (you will be able to figure out how this is done when you are already doing it — believe me) — it doesn’t matter how you do it, your goal is to seal the edges.

Brush the top with milk and sprinkle with caster sugar — this will make the pie shiny and crunchy.  With a sharp knife, make a few slashes on top of the pie.

Bake in the oven preheated to 170 deg C for about 20 minutes, turn down the heat to 150 deg C and continue baking for about a further 10 – 15 minutes until the pie is golden coloured.   Cool down a bit and serve with whipped cream or ice cream, or custard (I don’t like custard on my apple pie) or by itself.  This is good warm or cold.

20130715_190049 20130715_190042

2 Comments

  1. Leap of Faith!

    I love the McDo version too. My favourite, though, are the ones with a crumbly top then mixed with whipped cream! Try it, Maricris. I’m sure it’s going to be a winner.

    • That does sound yum! Cream really makes everything taste better (and me, bigger haha). Will definitely try that next time 🙂 mmmm!

Leave a Reply

