Cinnamon and Cheese Rolls

20130702_084250 20130702_084325

OK.  Yesterday, I posted a recipe for my Mini Cinnamon Rolls.  I wanted so bad to make another batch as I was again craving for some, and I thought it would be good to make some for my hubby’s lunchbox, and for my daughter’s breakfast.  Also, I thought, hmmmm, how about I use half the dough for cinnamon rolls, and the other half for cheese and garlic?  That way, we will have both sweet and savoury from one batch of recipe!  Now, I just needed to wake up at around 5:30 am to be able to have enough time for making the dough and rising it in time for when my husband has to go to work.  Sounded easy enough.

So next day, I woke up.  But I woke up an hour later than the planned 5:30 am.  Panic time!

So I took out my recipe (see yesterday’s Mini Cinnamon Rolls recipe).

As I was in a little bit of panic mode, as I was measuring 1 1/4 teaspoons of the yeast from the foil pack, there were still few left in the pack and I decided (with some advice from my bread-making husband) to just put them all in.  So I had more than 1 1/4 2 1/4 teaspoons of yeast in – perhaps a bit over 1 1/2 2 1/2 teaspoons.

Since I would use half of the dough for cinnamon rolls, I just prepared half of the sugar/cinnamon mixture but melted the original amount of butter and set both aside.

After the 10 minute resting time, I split the dough in two.

I shaped each dough into a long cylinder about 12 inches long and rolled them flat.  I brushed both of them with the melted butter and left some melted butter for later.

For the first dough, I just sprinkled the cinnamon and sugar mixture, placed some raisins, cut into strips, rolled each strips and brush some of the leftover melted butter on top, covered loosely with foil and placed the tray inside a warm oven (take note of the tip I mentioned in the Mini Cinnamon Rolls recipe).

For the other dough, I sprinkled some grated tasty cheese, grated mozzarella cheese, and garlic powder.  Didn’t have bacon but I reckon it would have been awesome as well.  I sliced the dough in strips as well, rolled each strip and covered with foil the same way.

Now here is the tricky part.  I didn’t have 90 minutes to rise them.  Not even 60.  So after 30 minutes, I took a peek.  Voila! The rolls have doubled in size already after only 30 minutes!

Cheese and Garlic Rolls before risingCheese and Garlic Rolls after 30 minutes rising Cinnamon Rolls before risingCinnamon Rolls after rising

I took them out of the oven, preheated the oven to 180 deg C (and I could only spare 5 minutes for preheating!) and placed both trays inside.  After about 20 – 25 minutes, I checked and they were all done.

I made the glaze for the cinnamon rolls and drizzled them on top of the cinnamon rolls.

Breakfast was ready for me and my daughter, and for my hubby’s lunchbox!

Cinnamon Rolls on the left; Cheese and Garlic Rolls on the right

We just couldn’t stop eating them because they turned out fluffy and light!

In the future, I plan to vary the filling.  Hmmmm…. spinach and feta perhaps? Cheese and olives? Bacon and cheese? Ham and cheese? Chocolate chips?  Endless possibilities!

2 Comments

  1. Leap of Faith!

    You’re so talented – cutting corners and still getting great results! Those look so yummy : )

  2. Hello and sorry for a mistake (thanks Mike!). The yeast should be at least 2 1/4 to 2 1/2 teaspoons and NOT 1 1/4 or 1 1/2. 🙂

Leave a Reply

