Man of Steel — It is super!

My husband and I today had the chance to go on a date and decided to watch Man of Steel.  We both enjoyed the film and yeah, it was a movie that entertained us and was a good choice.

Henry Cavill, as I have said when I updated my FB status (I had to say it), is IMPOSSIBLY HANDSOME.  With or without facial hair, with curly hair, with any kind of hair, maybe even bald, he would still be handsome.  Perfectly charming smile with pearly whites to die for, eyes that seem to be sad, pleading and sexy at the same time, and the body you would expect a superhero to have.  And that winning smile, wow.  Could he get any more charming? He goes straight to my ehrm… LIST.  My list that includes (not in any particular order) Nathan Fillon, Jensen Ackles, Michael Weatherly, Damian Lewis.  Yes, my husband is also in this list (in case he is reading this!). But enough of this list.

Comparing this movie to the Superman movies with Christopher Reeve and even the one with Brandon Routh, I have got to say this one is more modern, more high tech in effects, more action packed.  They were able to fit in Man of Steel both the stories in Superman I and II.  This film is even more star studded.

I have to say as well, that everytime Russell Crowe is in the picture, it gets so exciting!  I was amazed by how different he looked in this movie because the last time I saw him was when he was getting himself physically ready for Les Miserable where he looked old and balding and with a protruding belly.  In Man of Steel, it was like The Gladiator is back!  To me, he gave the movie some sense of stability — I can’t explain it.

Amy Adams played Lois Lane, and I am not a fan.  Not in Enchanted, not in Julie & Julia and not in Night at the Museum, but I may be unfair, as I haven’t watched any more of her films.  I think Lois could be played better by someone though at the moment, I can’t think of a better actress to do so.  I’m thinking maybe if Sarah Rafferty of Suits is younger, Jennifer Lawrence, Kristin Kreuk or maybe even Sarah Shahi?  I just didn’t feel any chemistry between Lois and Clark that instead of being excited that they were about to kiss, I just wanted it over and done with just so that part’s finished.

Anyway, Kevin Costner, Diane Lane, Laurence Fishburne, Christopher Meloni, Robbie-Williams-gone-bad(der lol) look alike Michael Shannon as Capt. Zod, Richard Schiff, etc. Excellent.  They completed the movie.

But, and yes, there is a but for me.  Maybe because I am old or old-fashioned (that sounds better), but I didn’t get the goosebumps I did when I saw Superman as a boy lifting that truck in Superman I, or when Superman swooped to save Lois Lane from falling from a building also in Superman I (yeah, I remember people clapping their hands during the movie for this scene), or even when Brandon Routh first appeared onscreen in his suit in Superman Returns.  Weird I know.  Maybe it’s just me.  And it was just a tad corny at the end when he finally wore his glasses.  Again, just me.

But hands down, Henry (yes, I call him Henry because he will call me Maricris if he knew me lol), wins hands down as the most handsome Superman ever.  EVER.

Oh, I also have to say that there were some instances where he bore some similarity with Tom Welling. Or maybe it’s still just me.

1 Comment

  1. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll
    be bookmarking and checking back often!

Leave a Reply

