Homemade Cream of Mushroom Soup

20140701_181834

In my youth up until recently, I have loved Campbell’s canned cream of mushroom soup.  I just follow the instructions in the can, add some sliced fresh mushrooms, warm it up and voila, soup!

Never did I consider making my own because when I saw a recipe, I felt I didn’t have the time and the patience, until one day, when I had time in my hand and decided to try it.

My first attempt was a success.  It definitely tasted very good.  In fact, after I have done it several times and I tried the canned version again because I was in a rush, I just didn’t like the canned version anymore.  I don’t know if it was just me but the canned one just didn’t taste…. good.  And it took me years to realize it! Now, if I don’t have time to make my own mushroom soup, I am NOT having mushroom soup.

Ingredients:

About 700 grams mushrooms (Portobello is best, but white button ones are alright), cut into chunks – edited Aug 2014

1 cup cream

3 cups water

1 onion, coarsely chopped

2 garlic cloves, crushed

2-3 pinches of thyme (fresh or dried is alright)

2 teaspoons salt

Pepper

75 grams butter

Extra cream to serve

Melt half the butter in a saucepan.  Add onions, garlic and thyme.  Stir until the onions are cooked.  Add the rest of the butter and the mushrooms and cook for about 5 minutes.  Add the water and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to slow and simmer for 10 minutes, covered.  Set aside for 5 minutes to let it cool down.

Carefully pour the mixture into a blender (in batches if necessary), add the salt and pepper, and blend until smooth (not too smooth if you prefer your soup chunky).  Transfer back to the same pan.  Pour over the cream and cook over low heat, stirring, only until heated through.

Serve in bowls, drizzle with extra cream and sprinkle with nutmeg if you prefer (I don’t).  My daughter loves it when the soup is served with warm bread rolls or served by itself with the extra cream.

Honestly, an excellent soup for a cold winter night!

20140328_170644 20140328_171951 20140701_175225 20140701_175320

Leave a Reply

